Top Left Link Buttons
  • English

Beethoven: Sparks of Joy

Beethoven: Sparks of Joy

Beethoven’s “Leichte Sonaten” composed in 1795-76 but not released publicly until 1805 are often studied by students.

The Opus 49 “Leichte Sonaten” (light sonatas) are only known today because Kaspar van Beethoven, one of the composer’s brothers, decided on his own to present them for publication in 1805, fully ten years after they had been composed. They are both two-movement works of great charm, popular among students and professionals alike.

Here Wilhelm Kempff performs Beethoven’s Sonata #19, Opus 49 no. 1.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.