Top Left Link Buttons
  • English

Beethoven: Sparks of Joy

Beethoven: Sparks of Joy

Beethoven’s “Tempest,” Opus 31 #2 in D-minor.

We come to one of the greatest sonatas in the entire repertoire, the Opus 31 #2 in D-minor, nicknamed “The Tempest”. From the unsettling eerieness of the opening movement, to the marvelous , orchestra-like setting of the Adagio second movement, and then the “moto perpetuo” Allegretto at the close, this sonata is riveting throughout. 
The technical demands of this sonata place are overshadowed by its interpretive challenges, so really great performances are hard to come by.  [Notes by Margaret Scialdone.]

We’ve selected this one by  Daniel Barenboim:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.